Winners announced for Digital Is Media Awards 2016

| January 4, 2017

#DigitaliSMediaAwards /#DigitaliSMediaAwards2016

London, 11 December 2016: The Screen Nation Digital–iS Media Awards sponsored by The May Fair Hotel (@TheMayFairHotel), have announced the winners at the ceremony hosted by Joivan Wade  (Doctor Who, E4 Youngers and Wall of Comedy), Percelle ‘Percy’ Ascott (Silent Witness, Wizards v Aliens, and Wall of Comedy) alongside Dee Kaate (Wall of Comedy) at The May Fair Hotel, on Sunday 11 December 2016.

Presenters on the night included BAFTA Award winner Noel Clarke, who presented Gal Dem with Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag. 

 Image courtesy Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016

Image courtesy Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016

Hood Documentary were the big winners on the night taking home two awards for Favourite Web Series and Best Web Series Actor, which went to Kayode Ewumi. The spoof documentary follows wannabe Grime MC Roll Safe as he guides viewers around the ‘hood‘.

Global producer and hit maker Naughty Boy presented the Favourite Web Series Actress to Ola Adaeze, star of Boxx.

A Dot Comedian, known for his theatre shows, MTV and ITV credits, won Favourite Online Comedian.

 Image courtesy Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016

Image courtesy Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016

Breaking the mould in radio broadcast were winners Not For The Radio who picked up Favourite Online Talk Show, which was presented by Jodie Abacus the hot new soul sensation named by Elton John as ‘one to watch’ for 2017.

The coveted Favourite Web Series Ensemble Award was went to A Lesson Learnt, presented by actor Kofi Abrefa, best known for treading the boards at The National (A Taste of Honey) and staring in Channel 4’s Humans.

The Awards, now in their third year, were established to celebrate innovative Black talent in new media: app creators, gamers, web show creators and content makers, who write, cast, record and edit on mobile devices, create their channels on YouTube, then promote their work via social networks such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Periscope and others.

 Image courtesy Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016

Image courtesy Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016

Other winners included the honorary Digital Achievement Award, which went to serial entrepreneur and CEO Steve Bartlett of Europe’s largest social marketing agency, Social Chain and Fanbytes, duo Tim Armoo and Ambrose Cooke. These innovators count Disney, adidas, New Look, GoPro and Nickelodeon as their clients.



Favourite Web Series Actor 

Ishmael Majid – Levelz

Kayode Ewumi – Hood Documentary – WINNER

Khaleb Brooks – Boxx

King Cas – New Skool Life

Kingsley Amadi – Spin (Season Finale)

Michael Gyekye – How Did We Get Here

Stephen Boyce – How Did We Get Here

Sylvester Akinrolabu – A Lesson Learnt


Favourite Web Series Actress

Olu Adaeze – Boxx – WINNER

Joanne Sandi – A Lesson Learnt, TV Footballers 

Kamara Bacchus – How Did We Get Here

Linda Adey – Dear Jesus

Natalie Gumede – Sally the Life Coach

Scarlett Carter – A Lesson Learnt

Vanessa Donovan – Shrink


Favourite Web Series Ensemble

A Lesson Learnt S1 – Wondervision Films – WINNER

Boxx S1 – Joi Productions in Assn with Plot Lost Prods

Concealed S1 – Sandra Koree/Clever Lens Media Production

Dear Jesus S4 Wonderlondon

Levelz S1 – Paul Opara, Shawn John, Malik Marli/Ezeo Media

New Skool Life S1 – Street Seven Films

Spin S2 (Season Finale) – Spin Drama TV


Favourite Web Series

Hood Documentary S1 – Tryrell Williams/TkCreatives – WINNER

A Lesson Learnt S1 – Priscilla Owusu, Danny Wonders/Wondervision Films

Boxx S1 – Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor, Yrsa Daley-Ward/Joi Productions in Assn with Plot Lost Prods

Dear Jesus S4 – Danielle A Scott-Haughton/Wonderlondon

Hot Pepper S1 – Destiny Ekaragha/2far Films

How Did We Get Here S2 – Cardy Films/Bwng

Shrink S1 – Katrina Smith Jackson, Trish M. Chanda/Auteur Vision Media

TV Footballers S1 – Matthew Allick, Chris Alozie/Allick Productions


Favourite Short Film

Deep It – Dir. Teddy Nygh / Prod Nick Bedu -WINNER

Fabric of The Royals – Dir./Wri. Verona Rose

New Beginnings – Dir Nicole Volavka 

The Works – Dir./Wri. Elliot Barnes-Worrell

Wild in the Wind – Dir./Wri. Ejiro Okorodudu

Wilton – Dir./Wri. Cecile Emeke 

Favourite Online Comedian

A Dot Comedian WINNER

Arnold Jorge

Ds Rants’n’Bants

Tommy Moutchi

Uncle Rafool


Favourite Podcast

3 Shots Of Tequila – WINNER

Artistic State Of Mind –

Half Cast/Chuckie Online –

Melanin Millennials –

Mostly Lit –

Tea And Biscuits –


Favourite Online Talk Show

Not For The Radio – – WINNER

Straight No Chaser –


Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag

Gal Dem – WINNER

Afridiziak –

Black Ballad –

Levile –

The British Blacklist –

The Colour Network –


FavouriteYouth Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag


Flavourmag –

ink Up TV –

New Wave District –

The Young Empire –


Digital Achievement (honorary)

Steven Bartlett

Timothy Armoo & Ambrose Cooke

Tags: , , , ,

Category: African Caribbean, Business, Culture & Society, Entertainment, UK Caribbean Diaspora News

About the Author (Author Profile)

We provide news and information for anyone interested in the Caribbean whether you’re UK based, European based or located in the Caribbean. New fresh ideas are always welcome with opportunities for bright writers.

Comments are closed.